North Carolina’s Drake Maye named ACC Preseason Player of the Year

Preseason awards are upon us. 

North Carolina quarterback Drake Maye had 88 of 176 votes to earn the nod as the Atlantic Coast Conference Preseason Player of the Year as the ACC announced its preseason all-conference team on Wednesday

Maye, who led the ACC with 4,321 passing yards and 38 touchdowns on his way to receiving ACC Freshman and Player of the Year honors, will return as Tar Heels starting quarterback in 2023. 

Clemson running back Will Shipley tallied the most votes onto the 2023 Preseason All-ACC Football Team, appearing on 169 ballots. Shipley finished second in the ACC and No. 24 in the NCAA behind 1,182 rushing yards as a sophomore a season ago. 

The Tigers saw seven selections to the Preseason All-ACC Football Team. Led by Shipley at running back, all-purpose back and specialist, Clemson also had linebackers Barrett Carter and Jeremiah Trotter Jr., defensive tackle Tyler Davis and safety Andrew Mukuba make the preseason all-conference squad. 

Florida State quarterback Jordan Travis placed second among those receiving ACC preseason player of the year votes. Travis had 66 selections, and he follows a 2022 campaign in which he was named second-team All-ACC. 

All-American linebacker Jeremiah Trotter Jr. of Clemson was voted fourth among Preseason Player of the Year nominees after leading the Tigers with 92 tackles. Duke quarterback Riley Leonard and Clemson defensive tackle Tyler Davis finished tied for fifth in the same category. 

Here is the full 2023 Preseason All-ACC Football Team: 

QB Drake Maye, North Carolina 

RB Will Shipley, Clemson 

RB Trey Benson, Florida State 

WR Johnny Wilson, Florida State 

WR Tez Walker North Carolina 

WR Jalon Calhoun, Duke 

TE Oronde Gadsden II, Syracuse 

AP Will Shipley, Clemson 

OT Graham Barton, Duke 

OT Matt Goncalves, Pitt 

OG Christian Mahogany, Boston College 

OG Javion Cohen, Miami 

C Bryan Hudson, Louisville 

DE Jared Verse, Florida State 

DE Donovan Ezeiruaku, Boston College 

DT Tyler Davis, Clemson 

DT DeWayne Carter, Duke 

LB Jeremiah Trotter Jr., Clemson 

LB Cedric Gray, North Carolina 

LB Barrett Carter, Clemson 

CB Fentrell Cypress II, Florida State 

CB Aydan White, NC State 

S Kam Kinchens, Miami 

S Andrew Mukuba, Clemson 

PK Andres Borregales, Miami 

P Daniel Sparks, Virginia 

SP Will Shipley, Clemson