Pac-12 releases statement after it’s left with 4 programs remaining


What was previously known as the Conference of Champions has quickly dwindled down to a core four group. 

After Arizona, Arizona State and Utah announced plans to join the Big 12 Conference beginning in 2024, the Pac-12 released a statement after four programs remain amid expansion: Cal, Oregon State, Stanford and Washington State. 

“(Friday)’s news is incredibly disappointing for student-athletes, fans, alumni and staff of the Pac-12 who cherish the over 100-year history, tradition and rivalries of the Conference of Champions,” the release stated. “We remain focused on securing the best possible future for each of our member universities.” 

Possible next steps for the Pac-12 include securing a Grant of Rights and possibly exploring a merger with the West Coast Conference, which 

The Pac-12 was founded December 2, 1915, and consisted of four schools at its onset. The group of the University of California, Berkeley, Washington, Oregon and presently Oregon State all served as charter programs upon creation of the conference for more than 100 years. 

Now left with a different group of four programs, the Pac-12 must regroup and determine its focus on its future.