Michigan’s Warde Manuel becomes Chair of CFP Selection Committee; 6 named new members

HOUSTON, TEXAS - JANUARY 5: Michigan Wolverines Team Arrival at George Bush Intercontinental Airport on January 5, 2024 in Houston, Texas. (Photo by CFP/Getty Images)

Michigan athletics director Warde Manuel was selected as the selection committee chair by the College Football Playoff for the 2024 season on Thursday.

According to a release, Manuel will replace NC State athletics director Boo Corrigan who served in the role the past two years.

READ: Reports: Colorado hires Cincinnati Bengals’ Robert Livingston as DC

“My first two years on the committee have been a great experience,” Manuel stated in a release. “I have so much respect for the time and effort each committee member puts in each week because of their commitment to the game. I’m honored to be asked to serve as committee chair.”

Manuel will begin his term at the start of the 12-team Playoff beginning next season. The CFP will expand and include 12 teams with the top four seeds receiving first round byes to the quarterfinal round. 

The CFP also announced the Management Committee “has appointed Patrick Chun, athletics director at Washington State University; Randall McDaniel, former All-American defensive lineman from Arizona State University; Gary Pinkel, longtime head coach at the University of Toledo and University of Missouri; Mack Rhoades, athletics director at Baylor University; Carla Williams, athletics director at the University of Virginia; and Hunter Yurachek, athletics director at the University of Arkansas, to the CFP Selection Committee.”

READ: Nick Saban joins ESPN College GameDay

The six new members will start three-year terms “starting this spring,” according to a release. They’ll replace since-expired term members Mitch Barnhart, Mark Harlan, Gene Taylor, Joe Taylor, Rod West and Corrigan.

Additionally, the CFP announced it has “extended the term” of former Nebraska All-American lineman Will Shields for a year.

“The additions of Pat, Randall, Gary, Mack, Carla and Hunter will bring some great new voices to the selection committee as we enter our 11th season,” Executive Director of the CFP Bill Hancock stated in a release. “Their knowledge, passion and character, along with their understanding of college football, will allow them to make the transition seamlessly with the returning members. And it is great to have Will returning. His understanding and wisdom will be a real benefit. We are delighted that Warde will serve as chair. He has been a valuable member of the committee last two years and that experience will serve him well in leading the group. As a former student-athlete, he will also be a good spokesperson to let fans know how the committee reached its rankings.”