Reports: NCAA denies transfer waivers for Florida State’s Jackson, North Carolina’s Walker

Two Division I football transfer players were denied eligibility in their filings to play the upcoming 2023 seasons, according to multiple reports. 

Florida State junior defensive lineman Darrell Jackson Jr. and North Carolina junior wide receiver Devontez ‘Tez’ Walker will reportedly be held out this season after their second transfer waivers were denied. 

North Carolina released a statement from Walker on Tuesday detailing the process behind his denied waiver and reasons for his decisions to transfer. One of his reasons to transfer was due to the stress he felt being away from home, and Walker is a Charlotte, North Carolina, native. 

“When I made the decision to transfer from Kent St. back to my home area at UNC, I did so thinking I would be able to play this year,” Walker stated. “The way the rules were set up at the time, we knew we’d have to file a waiver as a two-time transfer, and in previous years, those waivers were being granted. But, after entering the portal and enrolling in classes, the NCAA voted to change the rule on two-time transfers and denied my waiver.” 

Walker has missed two seasons already as he suffered a torn ACL prior to his first collegiate season at East Tennessee State and saw both the fall and spring seasons at NC Central canceled due to COVID. 

Walker stated he’s filed an appeal and is awaiting a ruling from the NCAA. He appeared on the Preseason All-ACC Football Team following two seasons with the Golden Flashes.

Jackson transferred to Florida State after starting 11 games at Miami. He spent the 2021 season as a true freshman at Maryland. 

According to Brendan Sonnone of Noles 247, Florida State head coach Mike Novell announced Jackson was denied a hardship waiver on Tuesday. 

Novell didn’t express optimism regarding a possible overruling of Jackson’s denied waiver, according to Sonnone.